I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2011(FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 125-31 (COR)

Introduced by:

D. G. RODRIGUEZ, JR. B.J.F. CRUZ <u>A.B. PALACIOS, SR.</u>

7011 HAY 31 AN 9: 5722

RELATIVE TO EXTENDING A WARM HAFA ADAI AND WELCOME TO GUAM TO MR. DAVE SHOJI AND A SINCERE UN DANGKOLO NA SI YO'US MA'ASE FOR INSPIRING GUAM'S YOUNG ADULTS AS GUEST SPEAKER OF THE 10TH ANNUAL SHIEH SU YING SCHOLAR ATHLETE OF THE YEAR AWARDS BANQUET AND RECOGNIXZING HIS AMAZING ACCOMPLISHMENTS AS THE LEGENDARY UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII WOMEN'S VOLLEYBALL HEAD COACH

- **1 BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'TRENTAL UNU NA**
- 2 LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:
- 3
- 4 WHEREAS, Mr. Dave Shoji has been the Head Coach of the University of
- 5 Hawaii Rainbow Wahine Volleyball team since 1975; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Mr. Shoji played his collegiate career as a setter at the
- 7 University of California, Santa Barbara, where he earned honors as a 2-time All-
- 8 American in 1968 and 1969; and

1	WHEREAS, he is known as a coach whose teams possesses outstanding
2	ball control, he has been honored with the title of All-Time Great Coach Award in
3	the Donald S. Shondell Contemporary Division of USA Volleyball in 2002 and
4	was also named Coach of the NCAA Division I 25th Anniversary Women's
5	Volleyball team in 2005 and was inducted to the Hawaii Sports Hall of Fame in the
6	same year; and
7	WHEREAS, Mr. Shoji was named the American Volleyball Coaches
8	Association National Coach of the Year twice, once in 1982 and the second time in
9	2009; and
10	WHEREAS, Mr. Shoji was named the AVCA West Region Coach of the
11	Year Ten (10) times and the Western Athletic Conference Coach of the Year
12	Eleven (11) times; and
13	WHEREAS, on December 16, 2010 Mr. Shoji was inducted into the
14	AVCA Hall of Fame; and
15	WHEREAS, in 2010 the University of Hawaii Rainbow Wahine captured
16	their 14 th straight regular season Western Athletic Conference title, winning all of
17	the conference matches by sweeps for the first time in the university's history; and

1	WHEREAS, during the season the UH Rainbow Wahine established school
2	records with a 62-set win streak winning twenty-three (23) consecutive matches
3	eventually advancing to its 29 th consecutive NCAA tournament; and
4	WHEREAS, in 2009 Mr. Shoji became the second head coach in NCAA
5	Division I women's volleyball history to reach a 1,000-win milestone, currently
6	ranking him second all-time in Division I. Dave Shoji is the longest tenured Coach
7	in Women's Volleyball and post an amazing record with the University of Hawaii
8	Rainbow Wahine of 1,042 wins, 177 losses and 1 tie;
9	WHEREAS, Mr. Shoji has guided the Rainbow Wahine to 25 NCAA
10	Regional appearances, and has totaled eighteen (18) 30-plus win seasons and
11	coached the Wahine Rainbow's to four (4) national Championships including an
12	AIAW title in 1979 and three NCAA Division I crowns in 1982, '83 and '87; and
13	WHEREAS, Mr. Shoji has coached twenty-for (24) AVCA All-American
14	athletes throughout his career as the Wahine Head Coach, some of which have
15	represented the United States Volleyball team in the Olympics and others who
16	became coaches at nationally accredited programs: now, therefore, be it:
17	RESOLVED , that I Mina 'Trentai Unu Na Liheslaturan Guåhan (the 31 st
18	Guam Legislature) does hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, extend a warm
19	Hafa Adai and welcome to Guam to Mr. Dave Shoji and a sincere Un Dangkolo'

1	Na Si Yu'os Ma'ase for inspiring Guam's young adults as guest speaker of the 10 th
2	Annual Shieh Su Ying Scholar Athlete of the Year Awards Banquet and for
3	recognizing his amazing accomplishments as the legendary University of Hawaii
4	Women's Volleyball Head Coach; and, be it further
5	RESOLVED , that the Speaker and the Committee on Rules certify, and the
6	Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be
7	thereafter transmitted to Mr. Dave Shoji, legendary University of Hawaii Women's
8	Volleyball Coach; to Dr. Thomas Shieh, Shieh Su Ying Scholar Athlete of the
9	Year Founder; and to the Honorable Edward J. B. Calvo, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE _____ DAY OF MAY, 2011.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D Speaker

RORY RESPICIO Chairman, Committee on Rules

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES Legislative Secretary